Skip to main content

TVCC Libraries: Database Access

What Is A Database?

Databases, in the library world, house various collections of searchable and retrievable information.  The databases the TVCC library provide contain collections of magazines, journals, scholarly articles, newspaper, refernce books, eBooks, and downloadable eBooks.  

How Do I Access The Databases?

The databases are all accessible from both on campus and from remote locations.  Any student (face to face, distance learner, dual credit, and VCT) have the ability to access the databases from any location by simply using their assigned Cardinal ID and password (VCT students contact the library for login information).  

What Specific Database Should I Use For My Research?

The library provides a "Discovery" database that houses numerous databases in one and provides access to the library's catalog.  The "Discovery" database is a one stop shop that will allow users to find magazine and scholarly journal articles along with print and digital books.  There are several select databases that are subject specific that can be searched separately. CINAHL, Nursing Reference Center, and Access Science are geared towards nursing and allied health majors, while Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text address the needs of criminal justice and law enforcement students.  All databases can be accessed through the A-Z Database List.

Where Can I Find Help With Research For My Class?

Currently the following research guides have been created for particular classes:

A-Z Database List

Useful Links